Little Home, Big World

…what would Ma do?

30 Before 30 July 17, 2010

Filed under: 30 before 30,Blahging — bethanyjoy @ 9:21 am
Tags: ,

I’ve seen this idea floating around blogland, most recently on Making it Lovely, and did my best to ignore it. After all, I have eleven months of blissful ignoring left to me; why ruin it? Forget that; why not celebrate the start of a new decade?

As I’ve said before, I’m compulsively optimistic.

In the name of accountability, I’ll make my list public, and update you all on my progress as I go. Eleven months; thirty goals. I’ll aim to accomplish three a month.

Bethany’s 30 Before 30:

1. Go to an amusement park without the kids and ride all the big roller-coasters completed August 8, 2010

2. Assemble a family tree picture wall

3. Run in a real 5k

4. Sew a slipcover for the couch completed July 22, 2010

5. Knit Bry a sweater   completed Oct. 30, 2010

6. Design and publish at least two new knitting/crocheting patterns

7. Lose 10lbs

8. Stop biting my fingernails

9. Write another NANOWRIMO novel Completed November 29, 2010! 54, 755 words. Woot-woot!

10. Assemble a list of questions for my Grandma and Nana; document the answers

11. Get a book I own signed by the author

12. Get a tattoo

13. Find a new band/musical artist that I *love*

14. Find and watch at least the first season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer

15. Start writing poetry again

16. Make my own pasta

17. Knit or crochet a pair of metal earrings

18. Submit three articles for publication

19. Track down and visit at least two friends with whom I have lost touch over the years

20. Visit a province other than Ontario

21. Learn how to use the DSLR on more than just the “auto” setting

22. Get a purple streak in my hair

23. Attend a session of Between the Sheets (writing critique circle)

24. Learn how to remember people’s names when I meet them

25. Go downhill skiing

26. Write a children’s book

27. Send five just-to-make-you-smile cards to people who aren’t expecting them

28. Earn my A.C.E. Certificate

29. Sew myself an apron

30. Take bellydancing lessons

Those are my goals – what are yours?

 

9 Responses to “30 Before 30”

  1. Meleesa Says:

    Does the fact that I am over 30 get me out of this one? or do I have to do a 40 before 40 thing? At least Iwould have more time to do it…. like several years.

    • bethanyjoy Says:

      Hmm, it could get REALLY challenging by the time we’re turning 75! 🙂

      (Although, I think this could be a fun idea for the kids…what a great habit to start. Nine before nine…)

  2. Michelle Says:

    Hey Beth!

    Fun list! You can count me in on a 5km if you would like a running buddy! And a good challenge for me would be to attempt to knit/crochet whatever pattern you design =) I’m also interested what you would get tattooed and where? Great idea with the list. I’ll definitely have to create my own =)

    • bethanyjoy Says:

      Hey sis! 🙂 A running buddy would be great…I’ve been slacking off on the consistency, so having a goal should help get me back on track. (It’s a theory!) As for the tattoo, I’m not sure on the what or where, but it’s one of those things I’ve always said “someday” about…seems like turning 30 is a great reason to choose a someday. 🙂 Now I just have to choose a design that’s appropriately symbolic…

  3. […] DIY, home decor, Penny Saved, Sewing, slipcover, Thrifty I’m crossing off the first of my 30 Before 30 list! I’ll admit to being slightly fixated on this project for a couple weeks, ever since […]

  4. […] Aug Awhile back I read a post by my friend Bethany titled, “30 before 30″  #mce_temp_url# The idea was to create a list of 30 things she hoped to accomplish before she turned 30 […]

  5. […] else that’s fabulous? I can cross off another item off my 30 Before 30 list – Bryan has a sweater! (And so does Joey. And they’re freaking HUGE sweaters; can […]

  6. […] This means I also get to cross another item off my 30 Before 30 list. Bonus!   Leave a Comment LikeBe the first to like this […]

  7. […] This means I also get to cross another item off my 30 Before 30 list. Bonus!   Leave a Comment LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

