Little Home, Big World

…what would Ma do?

Audiobook Review: Shade by Jeri Smith Ready July 18, 2010

Filed under: Opinionated — bethanyjoy @ 9:32 am
Tags: , , , ,

Why I Chose It: I really enjoy Smith-Ready’s WVMP books, and I’m a big fan of the YA genre, so when I saw Shade was available through my local library’s download service, it was a no-brainer – into the cart it went.

What I Liked: There is a LOT of emotion in this book – not surprising when you consider that the heroine is one of the post-shift generation, those who see ghosts and shades. Think about it for a moment. Would you ever really LOSE anybody you cared about? What if you could see but never touch them? Yeah. Smith-Ready manages an authentic, first-person voice for her heroine – she sounded like a teen, not a dumbed-down adult. Her emotional responses (of which there are, naturally, many!) rang true. Bonus point for portraying adults/authority figures as antagonists but NOT inherently imbecilic by nature of being adult. (My ultimate pet peeve with YA stories.)

Khristine Hvam’s narration was great…the how-to-sound-Scottish conversation had me giggling out loud and earning odd looks from others in the room. Hvam really brings Aura to life, and handles the emotional content of the story very convincingly.

What I Didn’t: The trying-to-choose-between-two-guys element always irritates me a little, but I will say it was handled well in this story, never crossing into the forehead-to-desk category.

Would I Listen Again? Yes. There are some interesting story lines/world-building elements that I would want to hear again before listening to the next book when it comes out. And, yes, the next book will definitely be on my playlist.

 

2 Responses to “Audiobook Review: Shade by Jeri Smith Ready”

  1. Susan Says:

    Thanks for the review. I now know what is going on my ipod next. 🙂

    • bethanyjoy Says:

      I’d love to hear your opinion on it. I appreciated the cause/effect of the choices the characters make…thought provoking, but not at all preachy/judgmental.


Leave a Reply

