Little Home, Big World

…what would Ma do?

A Spicy Entrance July 28, 2010

I was oddly fascinated by this spice cabinet of my mother’s when I was a little girl. There was something about the small knobs, and the way everything inside lined up so nicely, that I just loved. (Apparently my fascination with glass jars started early.) Moms remember those things, and she offered it to me when she was getting rid of it a few years ago…I jumped at it, but then it languished – sadly faded and spotted – for months years. I’d see it in my craft supplies tote every now and then and have every intention of making it over, without actually doing anything.

Sometimes it takes awhile for all the pieces of an idea to come together, you know?

Then I discovered this blog:

Visit thecsiproject.com …and saw that this week’s theme is “Roadkill Rescue”…and knew it was time.

So what that I’m days away from moving and my house is a mess and full of boxes and it’s horribly hot and I should probably purge and pack and not craft this afternoon?

*gasps for air*

Darn it! Sometimes a girl has to get crafty, for the sake of sanity. 🙂

It was a simple makeover. I took off the “faux drawer”, reclaimed the knobs and drilled holes in the back of the cupboard so I could reuse them as key hangers. I primed with some leftover Zinsser B-I-N, brushed on a couple coats of semi-gloss latex I have on hand from painting my porch chairs, and use chalkboard vinyl from the dollarstore for the front doors. I lightly distressed the edges with some sandpaper…and that’s IT!

Total cost for project? Nada. Zero. Zilch! It was all stuff I had on hand. How sweet is that?

Ultimately it will end up hanging in the entryway at our new house – did I mention I’m moving in a few days? 😉 – and I love the idea of pulling the color from the front porch chairs inside.

Turquoise. Chalkboard. Free.

Mmmm. Crafty therapy 1, Moving Stress 0!


 

6 Responses to “A Spicy Entrance”

  1. Em Says:

    Wow! looks sooooo good! I want one 🙂

  2. jen Says:

    Super-cute! I love the aqua! Good luck with your move… 🙂

  3. Lori Says:

    So cute! I love that color. What a great way to re-purpose a cherished family piece.

  4. LOVE the turquoise paint, the chalkboard goodness, and the knobs as key hangers! Especially the knobs as key hangers, very clever.

    And thanks for visiting me and commenting! It’s greatly appreciated.

  5. Great idea, keeps the keys handy, but out of sight!

  6. Shaine Says:

    I love it!!


Leave a Reply

